Compassionate AllowancesTo try and expedite service to those suffering from the most serious of ailments, the Social Security Administration implemented the “compassionate allowances” program, which aimed to eschew the normal first-come first-serve process of filing for disability benefits in favor of providing quick aid to those who need it most.

Each year, the Social Security Administration receives thousands of applications for benefits. Evaluating each claim and coming to a decision takes an enormous amount of time. In fact, most claimants don’t receive a final verdict until a year after their first application.

Under the new compassionate allowances initiative, eligible claimants may see their cases decided within a week. Here are some conditions that may qualify you for compassionate allowances:

  • Early onset Alzheimer’s disease
  • Adult non-Hodgkin Lymphoma
  • Some traumatic brain injuries
  • Lowe syndrome
  • Liver (and some other forms of) cancer
  • Cardiovascular disease
  • Erdheim Chester disease
  • Multiple system atrophy

The full list now includes 88 diseases and conditions, so if you’re suffering from an ailment that isn’t on this list, you may still qualify. To find out if your condition will be considered for expedited handling, refer to the complete list here or contact the Social Security Disability attorneys at Kaplan Lawyers PC.

Contact Kaplan Lawyers PC

Understanding compassionate allowances can quicken the process for those who are in desperate need of aid. If you are unable to work due to a medical condition but are not sure how to begin the process of filing for Social Security Disability benefits contact our office for a free consultation. We charge no fee unless we win your case.

Free, Immediate Consultation

Accident? Tell us about it and let our lawyers help today.